The Major Arcana

The Tarot consists of 22 major arcana and 56 minor arcana cards. The major arcana speaks of life’s changes or turning points. Everybody knows and loves these cards.  They give a reading drama and bring the story to life.  They represent the major events in the client’s life, the major lessons.  It is the events depicted in the major arcana that help us travel through life – learning and growing. It can be described like a man on a journey, he starts on the road as the Fool and encounters all manner of people and events along the way and through these experiences he learns life’s lessons and becomes more enlightened and fulfilled by the time he reaches the 22 card the World. It is a physical as well as a spiritual journey. Wherever the major cards fall there is a stronger influence in that area of the inquirers life, than if it were a minor card.

The Minor Arcana

This includes the four suits – Wands, Pentacles, Swords and Cups.  The cards in the Minor Arcana represent typical day-to-day situations and issues, everyday events, happenings and struggles. We have a certain amount of control and influence over these issues.  In a spread, the appearance (or lack ) of certain suit cards can describe the kind of energy that is dominant in the reading. Wands cards relate to energy, enthusiasm, action, achievements and challenges. They correspond to the signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius and the element of fire.  Pentacles relate to the material, physical, practical, business world.  They correspond to the signs of Capricorn, Taurus and Virgo and the element of earth.  Swords cards relate to thoughts, ideas, difficulties, communication and anxieties. They correspond to the signs of Libra, Aquarius and Gemini and the element of air.  The suit of Cups relates to love, emotions, relationships, harmony and feelings.  They correspond to the signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces and the element of water.